Orange County LSD Defense Lawyers
LSD is one of the most popular hallucinogenic drugs on the party scene, but never forget: “acid” is also a Schedule I controlled substance that can put you behind bars and drastically impact your future. While you might hope that the district attorney will be merciful in your case, the truth is that Orange County takes a harsh stance against illegal drug use, often arresting defendants first and asking questions later.
If you or someone you love has been arrested for possessing, selling, or manufacturing LSD, you should not hesitate to contact Law Office of Michael L. Guisti. Our Orange County LSD defense attorney can review the facts of your case and go to work to protect your future. Do not wait. Call us today at (714) 530-9690 or toll-free at (888) 478-8999 for a free case evaluation.
LSD, or lysergic acid diethylamide, is a synthetic drug that was developed in the 1930s that produces strong hallucinations when ingested. Since 1968, this drug has been illegal under both state and federal laws, receiving the classification of Schedule I controlled substance. Schedule I drugs have no known medicinal purposes; however, unlike other Schedule I drugs, LSD is not considered addictive.
Anyone who possesses, attempts to sell, or manufactures LSD can face steep penalties and significant fines. Each of these crimes is a violation of a specific California Health and Safety Code:
- HSC 11350 – Possession of LSD: Any individual who knowingly possesses LSD for personal use can be charged with possession.
- HSC 11351 – Intent to Sell LSD: Any individual who possesses large quantities of LSD may be charged with intent to sell if the drug is not for personal use.
- HSC 11379.6 – Manufacturing LSD: Any individual who manufactures LSD, whether for personal or commercial use, can be charged with manufacturing.
Like other drug crimes, possessing, selling, and manufacturing LSD come with steep penalties. While California does have drug diversion programs for first-time offenders under Prop 36 and PC 1000, you shouldn’t stake your freedom on them. LSD is not considered an addictive substance, and any prior conviction can prohibit you from entering a program without a strong legal argument.
If you are charged with an LSD drug crime, you can face:
- Possession of LSD: Most cases result in a misdemeanor charge of up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. If you are on the sex offender registry, however, it can be elevated to a felony, which includes up to three years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
- Intent to Sell LSD: Selling LSD can result in between 16 months and three years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $20,000, but the penalties can be elevated if you were accused of selling near a school or rehab center.
- Manufacturing LSD: Manufacturing LSD is always a felony and comes with a maximum $50,000 fine and/or three, five, or seven years in state prison.
An experienced attorney can provide a strong defense to get your charges reduced or dismissed even before trial. At Law Office of Michael L. Guisti, we are always prepared to defend our clients in jury trial, but we can also negotiate with the district attorney for you to enter a diversion program instead of going to jail.
There are several elements we can use to protect you from an LSD conviction, including:
- You were not aware that you possessed LSD.
- Someone else placed LSD in your possession.
- You only had LSD for personal use and had no intentions of selling it.
- You had no intentions of manufacturing LSD and any materials or equipment you had were for legal purposes.
- The police performed an illegal search or seizure.
- The police committed some other form of misconduct during your arrest.
No one wants to face the full wrath of a drug conviction because of a simple mistake, but our courts are rarely merciful. If you want to keep yourself out of prison, you need to work with an experienced and dedicated Orange County drug crime defense attorney at Law Office of Michael L. Guisti. We can go to work immediately on your case, investigating every detail to give you the best defense possible. To learn how Michael L. Guisti can defend you, call (714) 530-9690 or toll-free (888) 478-8999 for a free case evaluation.
Whether you're facing a felony or a misdemeanor, don't risk a conviction. Act quickly to redeem your reputation and protect your record by consulting with our Orange County criminal defense lawyer. Call today to schedule your free consultation.