Orange County Aggravated Battery Attorneys
Charged with California Penal Code 243(d) PC
If you or someone close to you is charged with aggravated battery, quick action must be taken. Failure to consult with an experienced OC defense lawyer could result in serious consequences, such as:
- Civil action resulting in monetary loss
- A strike under California's "Three Strikes" law
- A $10,000 fine
- Four years of state prison time
As you can see, aggravated battery is considered a serious crime in Orange County. For this reason, it is vital that you contact Law Office of Michael L. Guisti at (714) 530-9690 immediately for a free consultation.
What Constitutes Aggravated Battery?
Under California Penal Code 243(d) PC, causing serious bodily injury, or "aggravated battery," happens when one person willfully touches another in a harmful or offensive manner and the person touched suffers a "serious bodily injury" as a result.
What Qualifies as "Serious Bodily Injury"?
This is why it is so important to contact a skilled and experienced defense attorney. Aggravated battery is a crime that can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the severity of the injury. Broken bones, concussions, or a wound that requires suturing generally qualify as serious enough for a felony battery charge. A bruise or scrape from a shoving match is more likely to be charged as a misdemeanor. Being convicted of misdemeanor battery carries significantly less harsh penalties:
- A fine of up to $1,000
- One year in County Jail
- No strike under California's "Three Strikes" law
A competent defense attorney can often get a prosecutor or judge to reduce a felony battery charge to a misdemeanor. You don't want to be charged for a broken bone when the injury was only a bruise.
How Can a Skilled OC Defense Attorney Help?
There are many ways a skilled and experienced Orange County defense attorney can get battery charges reduced or even dropped, including arguing that:
- You were acting in self defense or the defense of others
- The injury does not qualify as "serious"
- The injury was actually accidental
- You have no criminal record and this is your first offense
- You were intoxicated at the time of the offense
How complex battery charges are makes it all the more important that you consult a defense attorney immediately when you are accused or arrested. It is important that we document and photograph any injuries you or the other parties have sustained. This evidence will be very valuable should your case go to trial. Remember, you have rights and options so it is important to act quickly.
Your first action should be to contact Law Office of Michael L. Guisti for a free consultation. Calling (714) 530-9690 immediately can make the difference between a felony and a misdemeanor, and prison time verses dismissed charges.
Whether you're facing a felony or a misdemeanor, don't risk a conviction. Act quickly to redeem your reputation and protect your record by consulting with our Orange County criminal defense lawyer. Call today to schedule your free consultation.