Under 21 DUI Attorney in Orange County
Arrested for Underage Drunk Driving
Drunk driving is taken seriously by California courts, but if you have been arrested for DUI in Orange County while under the age of 21, you could face even more serious charges. With DUI under 21 charges, it does not matter how much or how little alcohol you had—only that you blew a 0.01% or more. Just having one beer can invite charges of DUI under 21. If you are found guilty of one of the above underage DUI crimes, they must be reported on college and employment applications under the criminal history section. This is just one more reason that you must contact the experienced lawyers at Law Office of Michael L. Guisti right now. Call our Orange County DUI lawyers today at (714) 530-9690.
If you're under 21, there three different charges you could face, which are explained below.
California's Zero Tolerance Law
California's Zero Tolerance Law states that if you are pulled over while under 21 and register a BAC of 0.01% or greater, you are guilty of DUI. It does not matter if you were "drunk" or could operate your vehicle without any problem—only that you had some kind of measurable alcohol inside of you. Even something like cough syrup could show up on the BAC test and lead to an arrest. If found guilty of this crime, it can result in an automatic 1 year driver's license suspension or a 1 year delay of your driving privilege if you do not yet have a driver's license. This is not a criminal offense, but a civil offense handled by the DMV. You only have 10 days from the day of your arrest to make an appointment with the DMV.
Under 21 DUI with a BAC of 0.05% to 0.07%
If you allegedly "blew" a BAC of 0.05% to 0.07%, you can be charged with an infraction under CVC 23140. Unfortunately, if you are found guilty of this offense, you are also guilty of violating California's Zero Tolerance law. If found guilty, you will lose your California driver's license for 1 year, pay a $100 fine, have to attend and complete a minimum 3 month alcohol program before your license can be reinstated, and possibly be ordered to participate in a "Youthful Drunk Driving Visitation Program."
Misdemeanor DUI in Orange County
If you allegedly "blew" a 0.08% or more, you face misdemeanor DUI—just like everybody else over the age of 21. This is where the charges become much more serious and could affect you for years to come. If convicted of misdemeanor DUI, you face up to 5 years of informal probation, up to $1,000 in fines, up to a year in county jail, mandatory court-approved alcohol class, and a 6 month driver's license suspension.
Get Aggressive Defense from an OC Under 21 DUI Lawyer by Calling (714) 530-9690
A DUI charge, even under 21, can haunt you for many years and make your life difficult. At Law Office of Michael L. Guisti, we know your life is just beginning. Perhaps you had a bad lapse in judgment, which is why you must call immediately and speak with a top OC under 21 DUI lawyer so that we can put this behind you.
Our goal is to win your case, so call now! We are proud to offer free consultations.
Whether you're facing a felony or a misdemeanor, don't risk a conviction. Act quickly to redeem your reputation and protect your record by consulting with our Orange County criminal defense lawyer. Call today to schedule your free consultation.