Driving with a Suspended License in OC
Charged With Violating California Vehicle Code 14601?
Get Legal Representation Immediately
If you've been cited or arrested for driving on a revoked or suspended driver's in Orange County or Southern California, you need to understand this is a serious charge that could result in jail time which is why it's very important to call Law Office of Michael L. Guisti right now.
Driving on a suspended or revoked license is very serious charge that could lead to thousands of dollars in fines, jail time, and more. Driving on a suspended license is also commonly associated with hit-and-run charges, since drivers who are driving during a suspension will try to avoid getting caught in the event of an accident, only to end up in even bigger legal trouble as a result. Our law firm proudly has over a decade of successfully defending our clients on charges of driving on a suspended license in the courts of Orange County, Los Angeles, San Bernardino, Riverside and San Diego.
The Crime of Driving on a Suspended or Revoked Driver's License
The California Vehicle Code prohibits your driving privileges when you know, or should have reasonably known, that your driver's license has been suspended or revoked. However, the state must not only prove your license was suspended or revoked, but the state must also prove you were informed that it was suspended.
Common reasons for having your license revoked or suspended include having been convicted of the following:
- Reckless driving
- Being declared a negligent or incompetent driver
If you're caught driving on a license that was suspended or revoked due to a DUI, this is the most serious charge and you could face a minimum 10-day jail sentence for a first offense and a minimum 30-day jail sentence for a second. If you are found driving outside the scope of your restricted area, such as driving to and from work, you can be prosecuted under this law.
Why are you still being charged after your suspension ended?
Even if your suspension expired but you failed to take the proper steps with the DMV to regain your driver's license, and/or you didn't provide the courts the proper paperwork showing you completed your probation and other requirements the court ordered for you, you can still be charged with driving with a suspended license.
Call our Experienced OC Defense Team Now!
Driving on a suspended or revoked license is very serious charge that could lead to thousands in fines, jail time and the loss of your driving privileges, which is why you should call our Orange County defense attorney at Law Office of Michael L. Guisti at (714) 530-9690 right away.
Whether you're facing a felony or a misdemeanor, don't risk a conviction. Act quickly to redeem your reputation and protect your record by consulting with our Orange County criminal defense lawyer. Call today to schedule your free consultation.